CNN asks: Could you go car free?

September 2, 2009 at 6:18 am Leave a comment

Today CNN posted a link to Ireport.com asking people to go car-free for one day. Could you do it? WOULD you do it?

We all know that Americans love their cars. But did you know that the average car spends 95% of its time parked? Seems like a big waste of money!

Today CNN posted a link to Ireport.com asking people to share stories about their car-free life. As you’ll see, lots of people can and do live a car-free (or at least car-lite!) life.

Here’s my story: I started working for EnAct 3 weeks ago and decided to try commuting by bike. I haven’t been on a bike in many years and I’m not a very confident rider. But our office is close to my home and there is a bike path most of the way, so I’m giving it a whirl. My co-workers made it easier by showing me the optimal route through the streets surrounding the capitol, which is where our office is located. I’m pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoy it—the fresh air, the slow pace, even that final push up the hill are all good. AND I’m saving on gas, wear and tear on my car, and parking fees. Trust me when I say that if I can do it, ANYONE can.

EnAct, Madison Environmental Group, and Community Car will celebrate World Car Free Day on September 22. Drop by if you are in the neighborhood! And if you have a car-free story to tell, post it on Ireport.com…let’s represent Madison!

– Maria

Entry filed under: transportation. Tags: , , .

Do you want to change the world? Going Green for the Back-to-School Season

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit Our Website!

Archives

Eco-Events

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

