What’s Your Green Resolution?

January 6, 2010 at 1:06 pm 1 comment

I stopped myself from writing the ubiquitous “Top 10” something list at the end of 2009. But I just can’t restrain myself from thinking about how to make myself greener in 2010.

There are lots of things that I truly love about the “EnAct: Steps to Greener Living” book on which our EnAct program is based. (And I’m not just saying that because I work here!). It’s true that most of the behaviors are kinda at the micro level… set your thermostat back a few degrees further, only run your dishwasher/washing machine when it is full, use non-toxic alternatives to household chemicals. But here’s the cool thing: every single time I open the book, I find something that I didn’t know or that I knew but wasn’t ready to take action on before.

We all know that sustainability would be easier if huge corporations and the government would get more fully behind it. And yes, reducing my carbon footprint and your carbon footprint and even all of Madison’s carbon footprint is still just a drop in the bucket. However, it is also true that if each of us does a little, a lot gets done. More importantly, if each of us does a little at home, it makes us think about doing a little at work. Which might help our employers to think about doing a little. Which might inspire us to talk to our partner organizations about doing a little. Which might inspire us to talk with our legislators about doing a little. Which might inspire a bunch of us to vote or purchase a little bit differently. And that, my friends, really does add up.

So, here’s what I’m going to do.

  • Take the bus to work at least once a week
  • Hang on to my unused prescription and over-the-counter medications until the next medical waste drop off event.
  • Change two foods to more local/seasonal choices. This is a little challenging in Wisconsin in the winter. But I can certainly commit to eating Wisconsin cheese and drinking Wisconsin apple juice, rather than French cheese and Florida orange juice.
  • Add another behavior each month; for February, I’m going to check out the Conserve Energy chapter and see what I can come with.

What about you? What could you do differently this year? Check out the EnAct website or contact us if you need some suggestions.

Have fun. Be green.

Maria

Entry filed under: consequences, consumption, energy, food, other, sustainability, tips, waste. Tags: .

A blog about blogs A Biker’s Snowplow

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit Our Website!

Archives

Eco-Events

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

