I love my electricity provider!

February 11, 2010 at 4:49 pm Leave a comment

It’s almost Valentine’s Day, so of course I’m thinking of love. And I have a confession:  I am in love with Madison Gas & Electric. This is the first time I’ve been enamored with a utility provider but I refuse to be ashamed.

Though MGE is EnAct’s most important sponsor, that’s not the only reason I am infatuated. Every time I meet with them or participate in an outreach event with them, I am so impressed by the services they offer to their customers and to our community.

Here are my top 10 reasons why I love MGE:

  1. Looking for a tip on anything from caulking to dehumidifiers to furnaces? Visit their website for a brochure full of answers.
  2. Need assistance in Spanish or Hmong? MGE has a full Spanish-language site and representatives who speak Hmong.
  3. Want to borrow a book or a portable energy meter to check your energy use? Check out their library partnership.
  4. Considering solar power in your home? MGE offers advice and also example projects in the area. (Did you know that the UW Bike Path is one of the nation’s largest solar installations?)
  5. Want to reduce your carbon footprint? Their CO2gether program includes a calculator that is linked directly to your energy use for real-life tracking.
  6. Want to invest in green power? MGE offers options.
  7. Considering an electric car? They are creating the first charging network in the country.
  8. Looking for something to do this month? Check out their events calendar, go to a Power Tomorrow Worksh0p, or attend a Community Energy Resource Fair this spring (watch their website for details).
  9. Need energy conservation tips specifically for renters? They’ve got it.
  10. Want advice? Visit their web channel and “Ask Bob” a question (Bob is on the EnAct Board and is a great resource).
  11. Wondering where to find one of only 3o peregrine falcon nests in Wisconsin? Where else but at the MGE station on Madison’s East Side!

I could go on, but I don’t want to make MGE blush. Thanks, MGE, for taking me to a whole new level of enviro-love.

Be green. Have fun.
–Maria

Entry filed under: conservation, energy, events, other, sustainability, tips. Tags: , , , , , .

Wisconsin Bicycling Has A $1.5 Billion Impact Do-It-Myself Projects

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit Our Website!

Archives

Eco-Events

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

