Smart Tips for Summer Water Use

June 18, 2012 at 10:13 am 8 comments

As we move from spring to summer, I have become increasingly aware of my rising water use. Water is one of those things that we all use and rarely think about conserving. This last week was a relatively dry week and although we live in an area with an abundance of freshwater, conservation of water resources are still important. With this in mind, I would like to share a few tricks I’ve discovered to help conserve water this season.

During the summer, lawn care becomes increasingly important as families spend more time outside. For a green lawn that doesn’t waste too much water, try watering early in the morning or at night to prevent loss through evaporation; also, set your sprinkler to a lower pressure setting to avoid water lost through misting.

Another smart tip is to set your lawn mower to cut grass a bit longer. Taller grass, above the 2 inch threshold, tends to require less water as well as releases less through evaporation.

Other steps regarding lawn care require a bit more planning and effort. Changing difficult to mow places into garden beds can really cut back on water use.  Using organic mulch and native plants in these gardens will keep the ground cool and moist.

Image

Try installing rain barrels to your downspouts to provide another source of water. This can be useful when a sprinkler isn’t needed, like watering gardens or potted plants.

When thinking about water techniques to use inside your home, many of them are extremely easy to practice. One of the easiest ways to save water indoors is at the sink.  Always be conscious of how long you are keeping the water running. Make it a habit to turn it off as soon as nothing is underneath. Installing faucet aerators can make a big difference too. They are inexpensive and easy to install. Try rinsing your vegetables in a bowl of water instead of under a running faucet.  The leftover water can then be used for your houseplants.

While each of these may not save a ton of water at once, together every little bit adds up.  For more simple ways to save water, check out the Water, Use It Wisely website (Open a New Window).

I’m excited to write for EnAct this summer and good luck on your watery endeavors,
Adam, the new EnAct Intern

Entry filed under: other.

Make A Difference at Area Events 2012 Lake Monona Water Walk

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Julissa  |  September 22, 2012 at 12:35 pm

    This is really interesting, You’re an excessively skilled blogger. I have joined your feed and look ahead to in quest of extra of your fantastic post. Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks

    Reply
  • 2. spain weather climate  |  September 22, 2012 at 2:54 pm

    Hi there colleagues, pleasant post and fastidious urging commented here,
    I am genuinely enjoying by these.

    Reply
  • 3. la marina spain forum Almería  |  September 22, 2012 at 4:02 pm

    Thanks for the marvelous posting! I genuinely enjoyed reading it,
    you may be a great author.I will always bookmark your blog and will often come back later in
    life. I want to encourage you to definitely continue your great job, have
    a nice afternoon!

    Reply
  • 4. spain  |  September 23, 2012 at 1:19 pm

    I’m not sure exactly why but this web site is loading very slow for me. Is anyone else having this issue or is it a problem on my end? I’ll check back later on and see if the problem
    still exists.

    Reply
  • 5. space jam full movie hd  |  December 5, 2012 at 2:01 am

    Hi, i feel as if i detected you visited my web site so i arrived at “return the favor.
    I’m trying to discover points to enhance my site!I think its ok to run a few of your ideas!!

    Reply
  • 6. Earl  |  December 30, 2012 at 9:33 pm

    hello there and thank you for your information – I have definitely picked up anything new from right here.
    I did however expertise several technical points using this website, as I experienced to
    reload the web site many times previous

    to I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK?
    Not that

    I am complaining, but sluggish loading instances
    times will sometimes affect your

    placement in google and could damage your high quality score if advertising and

    marketing with Adwords. Well I’m adding this RSS to my email and can look out for
    a lot more of your respective interesting content.
    Ensure that you update

    this again very soon..

    Reply
  • 7. denis ferranti meters  |  May 7, 2013 at 2:13 am

    Thank you for another informative web site. Where else could I get that
    kind of

    information written in such an ideal way? I’ve a project that I am just now working on,

    and I’ve been on the look out for such info.

    Reply
  • 8. Wilbert  |  January 10, 2014 at 7:52 pm

    Hey! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a

    group of volunteers and starting a new initiative in a
    community in the same niche. Your blog

    provided us beneficial information to work on.
    You have done a marvellous job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit Our Website!

Archives

Eco-Events

June 2012
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

